Don’t forget this step in your wedding planning! You must have a license to legally get married in NYS. Not sure how to navigate the process? Oaks Manor can help. Here, we have outlined the basics of obtaining your marriage license.
Obtaining Your Marriage License
You both need to appear, in person, to any town or city clerk, to apply for your marriage license. There are no exceptions to this — it must be done in person. You’ll receive your license on the spot, but must engage in a 24-hour waiting period before the ceremony (this may be waived by a judge). The license is valid for 60 calendar days. A NYS marriage license may only be used in New York State.
No premarital blood work or physical exam is required, but you must be 18 years of age to get married without parental consent. Be prepared to present proof of age with one of the following:
- Birth Certificate
- Baptismal Record
- Naturalization Record
- Census Record
You will also have to provide proof of your identity with one of the following:
- Driver’s license
- Employment picture identification
- Immigration record
Note that if one of you was previously married, a copy of the Decree of Divorce or Certificate of Dissolution of a Marriage may be required by the town or city clerk.
In New York State, with the exception of New York City, the cost of a marriage license and Certificate of Marriage Registration (to be provided to your officiant) is $40. In NYC, call the City Clerk of the City of New York to find out current fees.
Thinking of changing your last name? Neither of your surnames will be automatically changed. One or both of you may indicate a change of surname on the marriage license. If you choose to change your surname, it is your responsibility to notify the Social Security Office to obtain a new identification card with the appropriate surname.
Need assistance in finding a venue for your wedding events? Oaks Manor has open dates on our calendar. Call 585-468-6257 to tour our banquet hall, grounds, and manor.